Posted by: Meagan | October 8, 2014

Cleaning Tip of the Week: Toilet Bowl Ring

Having a ring in your toilet isn’t terrible, but… it looks pretty gross. So here is a fast and easy way to get rid of that ring in 2 minutes or less.

IMG_5371

The scouring stick is actually the length of the box, I generally break them in half to use them. I find the full length a little too long to comfortably handle. You can find these at any Wal Mart or grocery store. They can be a bit pricy for a piece of stone, like $5, but it is worth the money!

First you are going to want to put on your handy dandy rubber gloves and then give your toilet a good scrub.

IMG_5380

Then flush the toilet and get scrubbing.

IMG_5381

And scrubbing. (The grey grit in the picture is what you scrub off the pumice stone, it will flush away no problem.)

IMG_5382

The pumice stone will sound like it is grinding against your porcelain throne, but never fear, it wont damage your toilet at all, just scrub all the yuck off. Then flush the toilet and reinspect to see if you missed any spots.

IMG_5383

And give it another once-over if needed.

IMG_5384

And WHAM! A beautiful, clean toilet you can be proud of in just minutes.

IMG_5385

And just an FYI, I always keep a Clorox toilet tablet in the tank to keep those yucky rings from reappearing. Which definitely makes for easier cleaning in the future.

_________________________

Other Weekly Cleaning Tips:

Rubber Gloves

_________________________

A little about me:

I have decided to do a weekly series of cleaning tips! We recently moved into a new rental that I have been slowly deep cleaning and I thought, why am I not sharing these cleaning tips and information with others? Cleaning can be a daunting task, but once you have some knowledge and tools tasks can be much more manageable! Just for some background, I am currently a stay at home mom with three little boys, I am professionally trained in cleaning homes and have cleaned a fair share of other people’s homes and businesses and I hope I can share some of my cleaning knowledge with you!

If you have any questions or requests of what you need help cleaning please leave a comment and I will be sure to get back to you quickly!

Responses

  1. Great idea! Ugh…I really need to get some of those. This rental wasn’t as dirty as yours, but the toilets could definitely use some help. I never knew those existed.

  2. I love the idea of breaking the pumice in half. I never thought of that. Pumice stones always remind me of the time I caught Audrey sucking on one when she was about 2, yes, after I had scrubbed the toilet with it. Blech! I’m a little better about keeping my cleaning supplies out of reach of toddlers now!

    • Blech indeed! I found my youngest biting chunks out of my foot pumice this summer, grossed me out!

  3. […] Toilet Bowl Rings […]

  4. […] Toilet Bowl Rings […]

  5. […] Toilet Bowl Rings […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

