Posted by: Meagan | October 26, 2014

Weekly Cleaning Tip: Dirt Rings

I am so so sorry for the unexpected two week break in my weekly cleaning tips, I haven’t been feeling well and thus, have gotten behind. But without further adieu, I share with you, how to clean Dirt Rings.

IMG_5361

Dirt rings are so, so gross. And honestly, I can say that I never saw one in a bathroom sink until we moved into this rental! But whether the ring is in your tub or sink, you CAN get rid of them! I wont lie though, it takes elbow grease and…….

IMG_5369

IMG_5372

I LOVE Bar Keepers Friend, it is cheaper than Comet and I think it works just as well if not better. It is also mostly odorless and doesn’t leave that chemically smell you can get from Comet and other similar cleaners. You also need a STIFF handled (my preference) scrub brush.

First you are going to put on your rubber gloves and get the sink damp, just run the water and splash it around the sink, primarily on the ringed area. Then you will shake Bar Keepers (or equivalent) on the ringed area and around the drain. And now you can prepare yourself because it is time to scrub the dickens out of that nasty, dirty ring.

In this picture I have scrubbed a little more than half the dirt ring and only for a minute or so. Serious improvement no?

IMG_5373

Then you will repeat on the other side of the dirt ring.

IMG_5376

IMG_5377

And WOW! Cleanliness is restored!

IMG_5379

IMG_5378

You may want to take this time to scrub out around the overflow drain as well. Those can get filthy because they are often neglected. (They ARE hard to see, and thus easy to forget.)

_________________________

Other Weekly Cleaning Tips:

Rubber Gloves

Toilet Bowl Rings

_________________________

A little about me:

I have decided to do a weekly series of cleaning tips! We recently moved into a new rental that I have been slowly deep cleaning and I thought, why am I not sharing these cleaning tips and information with others? Cleaning can be a daunting task, but once you have some knowledge and tools tasks can be much more manageable! Just for some background, I am currently a stay at home mom with three little boys, I am professionally trained in cleaning homes and have cleaned a fair share of other people’s homes and businesses and I hope I can share some of my cleaning knowledge with you!

If you have any questions or requests of what you need help cleaning please leave a comment and I will be sure to get back to you quickly!

Responses

  1. […] Dirt Rings […]

  2. […] Dirt Rings […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

