Posted by: Meagan | December 5, 2014

Meat & Bean Slow Cooker Chili

My Meat & Bean Slow Cooker Chili is so yum! It is the only chili recipe I’ve EVER made that was completely eaten up! My husband and I had seconds, and had it for lunch the next day, we took some over to his grandparents, and even our two year old ate it up! I’ve made it again and instead of sharing I froze half of it to have on hand for a freezer meal for when baby #4 arrives! This recipe filled up my entire slow cooker.

My recipe is loosely based on Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe on Allrecipes.com. We however, like a little heat, but not the amount in the Boilermaker recipe, and that recipe made much much more chili than I wanted to make for our weeknight dinner/would even fit in my large crock pot. I also changed some ingredients to our preferences and what we had on hand as well as a super secret ingredient I was introduced to this summer.

IMG_5675

Okay, so I like a lot of cheese on my chili, can you blame me?

IMG_5664

Canned and Fresh Ingredients:

– 15 oz. can Ranch Style Beans

-15 oz. can Kidney Beans, drained

-15 oz. can Pinto Beans, drained

-15 oz. can Corn, drained

-15 oz. can Diced Tomatoes

– 8 oz. can tomato sauce

– 1/4 cup Green Pepper, diced

– 1/4 cup Red Pepper, diced

– A few spoonfuls of bacon bits

Pour all of these ingredients in your slow cooker and turn it on low.

 

IMG_5666

Then stir together

IMG_5667

IMG_5668

Spices and Other Ingredients:

1 lb. Ground Beef, browned

1 teaspoon Oregano

1 teaspoon Chili Powder

1 teaspoon Cumin

1 teaspoon Celery Salt

1 teaspoon Chopped Garlic

1 teaspoon Paprika

2 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper

1/2 can Ginger Ale

1 Tablespoon minced onion

5 heaping tablespoons of your favorite salsa

2 Beef bullion cubes

 

-Cook the ground beef with half of the onion, then pour cooked ground beef, and the rest of the ingredients into the slow cooker.

 

IMG_5671

Odds & Ends Ingredients:

Salt and pepper to taste

Half a bar of milk chocolate, my new secret ingredient!  (I happened to have fudge on hand so I put in two large pieces of fudge!)

IMG_5669

IMG_5672

-Stir it all together and cook on high for 2 hours, and on low until you are ready to eat, or at least one hour. Serve over mashed potatoes, or rice or tortilla chips or Fritos and top with cheese!

Enjoy! This is now our favorite chili and it deserves to be shared!

Leave a Reply

Categories

