Posted by: Meagan | May 25, 2010

Italian Beef Sandwiches

Ohhhhh my, I found the yummiest recipe on Allrecipes.com for Italian Beef Sandwiches. I tweaked the recipe of course, but what else is new?

Meagan’s Italian Beef Sandwiches

1 can low sodium beef broth (or use beef bouillon in 2 cups water)

1 t Oregano

1/2 t Basil

1 t Parsley

1 Bay Leaf

2 Packages Italian Dressing Mix

1 t dried minced onion

1/2 t black pepper

2 1/2 lb. rump roast

1/4 a bell pepper

1/2 c water

Bring spices and broth to a boil, pour over rump roast, cook in crock pot on low for about 6 hours. Shred roast with 2 forks, add water and thinly sliced bell pepper. Cook on low for another hour and a half. Don’t forget to remove the Bay Leaf!

We ate our Italian Beef on Rhodes Rolls with some Provolone cheese. I think that next time I make these I’ll oven toast the entire sandwich so the cheese really melts well. I also dipped my sandwich in the left over broth, SO delicious!


Responses

  1. Looks and sounds de-lish!

  2. It is SO very very good and perfect for the late church because in the morning you can get it going, come home, shred and add the bell pepper and let it cook while you make your side dishes and rolls and then eat!

  3. My mouth is watering and my stomach is growling.

  4. It’s in the crockpot right now. But I didn’t have any beef broth or bouillon (can’t find it), so I used canned chicken broth. The chef I take classes from says she actually doesn’t like canned beef broth and always uses chicken, so should be a fine substitute.


Leave a comment

Categories